London Fabric Sampling

Fabric shopping my second favourite shopping after the obvious shoe shopping! I went up to London this week to every fashion design and textiles student’s favourite street, Berwick Street which is located in the heart of Soho. I stared exploring the street famous for high quality and variety of fabrics. My two favourite shops are the Silk Society which sells high quality embellished and bridal fabrics prices start at £15-£395 per metre for heavily beaded fabrics. While at a higher price point, the fabrics are definitely worth the cost if your collection involves large amounts of embellishments. Also the Cloth House which is another great fabric store with an online store and is very student friendly, so get your fabric samples here. The cloth house has a wide variety of fabrics including cottons; jerseys, silk and much more. I collected a range of fabrics samples as this is the start of my collection. However I am leaning towards technical fabrics such as latex, neoprene and lightweight pvc.I am looking at the 1960s for inspiration for my final collection and I think the technical fabric show the development of new materials and technology in the 1960s.

20150817_153422 (2)

One thought on “London Fabric Sampling

Leave a Reply

